Skip to content

stirring it up

October 17, 2011

it stirs a bit of anger in my heart to hear the Word used incorrectly or for it to be distorted. today in class, my gender communication professor was referencing scripture and was completely clueless to what she was saying. it angered me to hear God’s word misrepresented. it was clear that she had never actually read the Bible or believed it to be truth.  after mulling over this a few moments, i realized she had probably never heard the Gospel presented truthfully. my heart quickly turned from anger toward her to compassion. the holy spirit was responsible for that one. it’s just such an incredible gift to be a child of God and to know His love, my life would be so empty without it. why doesn’t everyone know this love and truth?

my immediate thought following this realization was that i was still a little angry. not toward her, or any people specifically, but toward our society today. my next class, we have a speaker from the lgbtq organization on campus coming to talk to us about that whole community of people and the struggles and hardships they face everyday. i know that those struggles are real and they occur on a daily basis, but a part of me knows that it wasn’t intended to be that way. sure, we face struggles, but God wants us to walk alongside him in each and every one of them. no wonder it’s so hard-without Him, you’re completely on your own. i don’t think i could do that. but why does society and our university  push tolerance for race and sexual orientation and hardly ever touch on religion? i find it so interesting that it is important for us to hear clear representations of  how to act or be tolerant of differences in race and sexual orientation, but Christianity is hardly even mentioned in the classroom, let alone represented correctly. this world is so broken, myself not excluded. i can’t imagine how God can look down upon this depraved world and still love us. but i guess that’s why He’s God and i’m not. His perfect love is impossible for me to grasp in its entirety.

we still see it every day though. walking around campus or clifton, driving to and from work, every customer walking through the door that i serve-i have no idea if they know the glorious riches of knowing our King, Redeemer,  Lord. it’s a shame, really, that i don’t dwell in this mindset every moment of every day. i’d probably be a lot more compelled to express Christ’s love instead of being wrapped up in my own impatience and selfish desires.

literally as i was typing this, my good friend, jen, just sent me some scripture that seems fitting to share:

 “If you, Lord, kept a record of sins,
Lord, who could stand?
But with you there is forgiveness,
so that we can, with reverence, serve you.

I wait for the LORD, my whole being waits,
and in his word I put my hope. “

Psalm 130:3-5

I will wait for my Lord. because without Him, i am nothing. He will bring a fulfilled hope. and my soul can rest in that in the present until that time comes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

