Skip to content

beautiful>pretty

March 6, 2012

today, as i was going about my normal procrastination rounds, i stumbled across this article. the good women project shared it on their twitter and i found so much encouragement in reading it. i don’t want to re-post the whole article, but do want to highlight one part:

“I want to be known for more than how I look. I want to be sought after for the way that I love, for my capacity to inspire, for big faith and my ability to speak some sort of truth with both amazing confidence and soft tenderness. I want to be pursued because I am an undeniable person of passion, a woman of distinction worth getting to know because I care more about making my corner of the world so much better than I do about making my face fit an ideal I know I’ll never be good enough for.

I want to trade shallow aesthetics in for a bottomless ocean that never runs dry. I want people to see my heart, all its gruesome glory, and my spirit, with its never-ending persistence to try. I want people to smile when they look at me, with or without the lipstick on, because they associate me with something more than can be seen.

I want to possess something that lasts, even if all the pretty is beaten out of me. I want to be beautiful and I think that I could be. I think – somewhere deep down, I truly believe – that I am.”

such a blessing to have read those words today. so often i find myself discouraged by my appearance and thinking i’m not anywhere close to being beautiful. i strive for words of affirmation about my looks, but never seek them about my spirit. it is reinforced throughout the Bible, including two of my favorite verses, 1 Peter 3:3-4 and Proverbs 31:30, that a beautiful spirit is far superior to external beauty. i want to be a woman who fears the Lord, loves others fiercely, and willing to give my life away in obedience to whatever God calls me to. i want to be open with others about my struggles, my hopes, my fears and my doubts. i want to be deeply invested in all of my relationships and seek to fill my life with people who will constantly challenge me in a loving, Christ-like manner. i want to stop believing the lie that i can only be loved based on how i look.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. megrigano permalink
    April 4, 2012 6:51 pm

    Hey Kait! Thanks for sharing:) Surprise! I read your blog:)

    • April 5, 2012 12:02 am

      Fun! Thanks! And thanks for all the encouragement I get from reading yours 🙂

  2. leeleegirl4 permalink
    May 1, 2012 9:14 pm

    I love this!

Leave a Reply

